• MERLN History & Structure

MERLN History and Structure

The MERLN Institute for Technology-Inspired Regenerative Medicine was founded in 2014 by Prof. Clemens van Blitterswijk. Van Blitterswijk also headed the Complex Tissue Engineering (CTR) department. Together with the other two departments (Instructive Biomaterial Engineering - IBE - and Cell Biology-Inspired Tissue Engineering - cBITE), led by Prof. Pamela Habibovic and Prof. Jan de Boer respectively, MERLN quickly expanded and became a successful institute that performs cutting-edge science, sets up new interdisciplinary collaborations and has already built up an excellent regional, national and international reputation.

Van Blitterswijk led the institute until December 2018, after which Pamela Habibovi├ž became the new director of MERLN. Prof. Lorenzo Moroni took over as head of CTR and also serves as deputy director, while Jan de Boer moved to the Technical University Eindhoven. cBITE welcomed a new cBITE department head in September 2019, when Prof. Martijn van Griensven was appointed. Van Blitterswijk still continues to serve as a principal investigator and scientific advisor to MERLN and, together with out Business Development Officer Prof. Marianne van der Steen, forms MERLN's advisory team. 

The chart below depicts MERLN's structure which also shows the Principal Investigators, our Managing Director Dr. Sef Janssen, and the Executive Team, consisting of Van Blitterswijk, the three department heads, and Prof. Roman Truckenm├╝ller.


Prof. Clemens van Blitterswijk, Founder of MERLN.
Picture by Joey Roberts.